Gita  Chapter -4

(Jnana-Vibhaga Yoga)

          Arjuna was now confused with the message of Krishna. When  he sought help of krishna unable to make a decision about fighting the war, krishna gave him in the second chapter, the knowledge of the true nature of our Self  (Peace) and said the that  this knowledge of the Self (Peace) should be the pursuit in life.

          Then Arjuna asked krishna, if seeking knowledge of the Self  (Peace)  is the most important aspect of life, then oh Krishna, why do you get me involved in fighting this deadly war?  To this question, krishna said that action is inevitable, whether we like it or not. We always have actions : mental action as thoughts in mind, action of speech which arise as thoughts and expresses as speech of action and finally the thoughts that manifest as physical actions.

      We believe that by performing  these actions we will gain peace, which means gaining completeness and feeling of un-limitedness. Seldom we understand that actions (mental, oral and physical) are like quick-sand in a desert, in which every step we take to free us, only make us sink deep into the sandpit.  So more actions only binds us instead of freeing us.

       So krishna made it clear to Arjuna , this knowledge is not about  giving up of actions, but giving up the doer-ship of actions. In other words, instead of being ignorant of being the "doer" of actions, be aware that you are the witnessor of the actions. This being awareful is the basis for spiritual term "Awakening". Being always the witnessor is being alive or awake.

The awakening occurs in Stages.

       In this chapter Krishna tells that there are three attributes  (gunas) of Nature.

1. Knowledge or Intelligence - Satvic .

2. Action or Motion - Rajasic.

3. Inertia or Dullness -Tamasic.

         Based on the above three attributes of nature,  humans can be classified into four different awakening personalities or tendencies. 

1. The  basic human tendency is a mix of Inertia-Action-Intelligence (Tamas-Rajas-Satva). In this the predominating attribute of inertia or dullness leads to the individual to lead a life of total ignorance or darkness and known as Shudra.

      The dullness is so predominant that the individual hardly attempts to even fulfill his own basic needs let alone desire for spiritual awakening.  The individual totally identifies himself with the Ego and has no clue about his True Self.

2. Action-Inertia-Intelligence (Rajas-Tamas-Satva) or Vaishya. This individual  is  action oriented and is interested only in the materialistic pursuits with least knowledge about the Higher Self.

3. Action-Intelligence-Inertia (Rajas-Satva-Tamas) or Kshatriya. This individual is action oriented and has the concept of duty and good  of the society. The individual  has some knowledge of spiritual pursuits and has the enquiring mind in all the performing actions.

4.Intelligence-Action-Inertia (Satva-Rajas-Tamas) or Brahmin. This is the highest state in spiritual awakening who has only the spiritual pursuit as the foremost goal in life. The one who sees knowledge in all the actions and has least inertia is a Brahmin.

        This chapter is called Ganan-vibhaga, which means stages of awakening based on the Knowledge of the Self.  Karma (action) binds more to the Egoistic nature. But Knowledge (Gnana)  liberates us from the crutches of the Ego. So action performed with knowledge liberates or frees us from the prison of the Ego and that is why an individual of the Brahmin personality is considered superior in the awakening stage.


Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries