Trinity Gods - Shiva (II)

(Please read  body mind intellect  given in the previous page to understand concept of shiva).

 Shiva in Meditation posture: 

    This is the symbolism behind Shiva being portrayed in Meditative posture. Meditation leads to the Awareness state, the field of all potentialities and possibilities, the Self. In Shiva purana, Shiva is described to be seated always in Meditative posture, because he symbolizes the state of Awareness which a Yogi attains doing meditation.

We described earlier that Yoga and Meditation is one of the greatest technology given by Vedic Rishi's to transcend to the state of Awareness, the source of all cosmic knowledge. It is also that the field of Awareness  is the state of inherent wisdom (represented by the third eye), creation (represented by the drum), Bliss (represented by the Ganges water flowing from the center of the head), witnessing (Snake over the neck), Being or present (represented by the Trident).

Snake on Shiva's neck. The snake has eyes which are small and is invisible. The big visible eyes are not real, they are just to camouflage the predators. Similarly our two eyes are not real, which means that they project the world unrealistically. For example, the Sun is not rotating over the Earth but our eyes project as though sun comes up every morning and moves towards west. Similarly things are not really colored, they are just absorption of light at different spectrum.

    The physical eyes thus camouflage the reality which is Brahman, the Consciousness. Our real eyes of vision are the witnessing eyes of Awareness. The awareness is the reality but we miss the reality by the false projected world. This is the third eye of Lord Shiva, which is the Eyes of Awareness, which destroys unreality.

The trident represent the three aspects of time, the past, present and future. what matters only is the present. Awareness is in the present. The present unfolds into the future and at the same time reminds the past. It is the present that is the center and to which we hold on to in living the life, so does shiva holds on to the center rod of the trident. Being aware of the present one witnessing everything and that destroys unreality.

 Drum with the Trident represent that Creation (Space & Sound) exists in the three states of Time and Space. Nevertheless, creation is always in the Present state and that is represented as Drum tied to the center of the three prongs.

Why is Shiva known as the destroyer and what does he destroy?.

m  As we had discussed in the previous sections that, in Awareness state, the individuality or Ego (the "I" feeling)  temporarily cease to exist. The Ego regains its nature like a spring coil regains its original nature as soon as the force is removed.

What is Ego?

The sense of "I" is the Ego or Aham-kaara (Ahankar). The Ego is deep when it is identified with the body. This is why every living being right from the single celled bacteria to the highest evolved  human being tries to protect its body. Because the identification to the body is the nature of every living being called the Ego.

     This Ego diminishes when we transcend to the mind level and further diminishes at the intellect level and completely destroyed at the awareness level. This is why Shiva called the Destroyer, the destroyer of the Ego.

Brahma is the creator , the Mind that creates the Ego. In the Brahma section, read why he is not worshipped in any temples, though he is the creator God.

Vishnu, however is widely worshipped God. He is the intellect is what then sustains this Ego to function in the world, at the same time, pulls towards the Awareness state and helps in Moksha, transcending to the awareness state. Vishnu sustains the Material wealth needed for the Ego to enjoy the world. This is why Vishnu is royally dressed, unlike Shiva who is portrayed as an ascetic meditating. This is because he is the witnessing Awareness which is the highest state in Meditation.  This also explains why Vishnu takes Avatars (different evolutions of surviving intellect) to keep the world functioning. More details in Vishnu Section.

Shiva the Lord of Arts:

    The nature of the mind is to wander either in the past or in future. Only in the Awareness state it is aware of the present. Only in the present it is always happy. Watching Arts is enjoyable to everyone, whether it is listening to music or looking at a painting or watching a dance or a movie. Our wandering minds are  brought to the present moment or Awareness state. That bliss of being in the present is however is not in our awareness because we are over-shadowed by the emotional aspect of the Art./span>

 Vedic culture has well developed 64 types of arts and they are meant for us to transcend into the present. These arts are slow but slowly penetrating and brings us into the awareness state. Those individuals mind that are restless to transcend feels these arts very boring. For example the Vedic traditional dances like Bharatanaytam, Mohiniattam , Kathakali, or Kathak are slow and repetitive. The repetition helps in observing the subtlest elements and through that the mind transcends. The same is with Classical Vedic traditional  music like Hindustani or Karnatic mucis. They all help in transcending. Shiva is the Lord of these arts because the ultimate aim is to transcend to the awareness state.

Why is Shiva called Bhairava and why is Yama the Lord of Death under his control?

Please click here to continue  reading

Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries