Vedic Creation Cycle

The whole Universe is only a manifestation of Pure Consciousness. There is no concept of creation in Vedic tradition. This is how the Vedic tradition is different from all religions. Science talks about creation too, but what triggered creation and how the big-bang originated is the unanswered question for modern science.

    According to Vedic tradition, there is no "God" (a person) sitting in the skies and creating and controlling everyone and everything. There is no creation of this universe but only manifestation. If it is a creation, then there is a creator who is different from the raw material he or she uses and also different from the created end-product and also there is  purpose for it. Then endless questions appear like where did the raw material come from for the creator to create the universe etc.

    According to Vedic Science , there is only manifestation, which means that the creator, creating material and the end product of creation are all one and the same. That "oneness" non-duality is the core of Vedic tradition and not only do not contradict with any "Truth" seen in other religious/spiritual traditions but  also in tune with the discoveries of Modern science.

   Since the "One" is manifested in the universe as several with a unique phenomenon, there is that common fundamental aspect reflected in everything. Only by understanding this fact, one can understand the core theme of all branches of Vedic sciences. Whether it is a dance or a ritual or medical science of Vedic science, all reflect this one fundamental Truth in it. The "One" that Vedic tradition talks about is the Pure Consciousness.

How Consciousness manifest as the Universe?

   The ancient Vedic science clearly explains how the the whole Universe is the manifestation of from Pure Consciousness. This process of manifestation is observed at the macro-cosmic level and also at the individual micro-level.  The process of manifestation is also the underlying  fundamental common theme of all the Vedic sciences.

    The pure Consciousness is known as Purusha (Spirit) or Male energy (symbolized as upright triangle). The male energy or  Purusha does not undergo any change but has an ability to project as though  it undergoes changes. This ability is called "Sakthi"  (Energy-Matter) or the female energy (symbolized as downward Triangle). 

    It is only the female energy that manifest as the Universe. However the female energy manifested as universe (matter) has no independent existence without the Purusha (Spirit). This is why Adi-Sankara said Brahma Sathya Jagath Mithya. This means this Consciousness is real but the Universe is un-real.

The term "un-real"  has been wrongly misunderstood as illusion. The Universe is not an illusion.

The whole confusion goes away by understanding four words.

1. Sathya (Real). Consciousness is Sathya (Truth or Reality). This means it exists by itself. It does not need anything for its existence.

2. Mithya (unreal, asath)- Anything that is not self-existent but depends on something else. For example, if Gold is taken as real, then Gold ring and gold necklase is mithya or unreal. Unreal does not mean illusion. Gold ring is not an illusion, but mithya. This means the ring (form) necklase (form) depends on Gold for its existence. If there is no gold, there is no Gold ring or Gold-necklase. So they are mithya.

3. Thutcha (illusion). Horse horn is an illusion. It never exists. This is clear and does  not require further explanation.

4. Maya. Maya is the inability to distinguish between the real (sath) from Asath (unreal). Maya is wrongly translated as illusion. Maya is not illusion. It is the lack of awareness to understand the real from the unreal. (to read more about "Maya" click)

Therefore this Universe is not an illusion (thutcha) but Mithya (unreal). Only Pure Consciousness is real.

    With this understanding let us proceed further to understand the manifestation of this universe. There are five major principles bringing forth this manifestation. These underlying principles which bring forth Bhoota (Bhuta) (form) are five in number. They are known as Pancha Bhootas, the five principles.

Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries